SotD-H.O.T.’s “Candy”

I was going to start of my Songs of the Day with songs I knew really well and that changed my view of k-pop and so forth, but I just saw a scad of videos for this song, and I decided I wanted to share it. 😀

So, I just discovered the real version of the song “Candy” by H.O.T. (a 1990’s k-pop band) today. But I’d actually heard it TWICE before that–once by Donghae, Eunhyuk and Shindong of Super Junior and once by a rookie group called Teen Top. Turns out, every freaking band has done a cover.

Well, not every band. But pretty close. I shall tell you my little story, so you can enjoy this great song as much as I have.

A while ago, I watched the show Super Adonis Camp, which starred 6 of the members of Super Junior doing various challenges and such. It was really great, and I loved it. There were a lot of scenes of the group just hanging out and being themselves, which is always interesting, and always hilarious. Well, there was this one scene where Shindong’s group (him, Donghae, and Eunhyukkie) were–playing a karaoke game. There’s a lot of those in Korea. Karaoke is very popular. VERY popular. I see it all the time. Anyways, they were playing this game, and the song they were singing was, obviously, H.O.T.’s “Candy” with Donghae on lead vocals, Hyukkie on rap and sub-vocals, and Shindong on….tambourine. Here is the full-length clip–> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oq-4VjcgYS4 By the way, SuJu’s song “Haengbok” (or “Happiness) is actually also a cover of a song by the same band. Anyways, I didn’t really pay any attention to the song at the time, because heck, it was just Karaoke. But I remembered the name of the song, somehow, and when I heard it the next time, I recalled the first time I watched it.

The second time was yesterday, when I was browsing rookie bands with Maggie as we searched for something new to fall in love with. We happened upon something titled “Teen Top – Candy” (we were looking up the band Teen Top), and decided to watch it. It turned out to be a short clip of the band (made up of the most adorable people ever) dressed up in ridiculously adorable outfits, singing this song I somehow recognized. Here is said link–> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLkKnbe9n30 I finally realized that it was the same song SuJu had sung, and decided to look it up later.

Well, I did that today. The original music video was made in 1996, and is terrible quality, but is super cute. It also includes some very ridiculous, adorable costumes. As I scrolled through the comments, I discovered a lot of people saying “Teen Top brought me here!” and “Super Junior brought me here!” However, I also saw a lot of “SHINee/Big Bang brought me here!” I was all like “Whaaaat? Do they all sing it???” So I looked it up and it turns out they DO. All of them, at one point or another, perform this song live (always dressed up ridiculously cute). Super Junior does so a couple other times as well. I don’t know why it’s alwasy this song. Maybe it was really popular. Maybe it gives them an excuse to wear adorable contumes. Maybe it’s because it makes everyone fall in love with them–because I did. But I certainly don’t mind. Heck, every band should do it. It is the most adorable thing ever.

And so, here are the links to the SHINee and Big bang versions (BB’s was the most shocking, because they’re usually so hip hop and gangsta. Cute is not their style).  SHINee(minus Jonghyun, who apparently was injured)–>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiNkY0zkBSo Big Bang–>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32SNva48H4g  and finally H.O.T.’s original version–>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqRv2Md6Slg&feature=fvwrel Oh, and here’s SuJu’s Ryeowook, Yesung and Eunhyuk performing it. Yesung knows zero choreography XD–>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wX8SlIDM4c Also, I’ve heard a band called “Infinite” also did it once, but I don’t know them, so….whatevs. I’ve sent enough links already XD Go K-Pop! This song is so cute. Aaaaaanyways….I need a life.

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

