SotD-FT Island’s “I Hope”

This was what was supposed to be my first song of the day, before I was distracted by “Candy”. This is the wonder that is “I Hope” by FT Island, which was my introduction to the world of K-Music. It is possibly the best thing that ever happened to me (though that might be an exaggeration). And therefore I want to share it with you, even if you don’t end up liking it as much as I do.

So it all started when I got home from school on November 26, 2010. I had just stepped in the door and Maggie called to me. “Come look what I found!” she insisted. “It’s Jeremy!” As I sat down in the computer room and she pulled up the video on YouTube, she explained briefly. “I looked up Jeremy and Shinwoo’s bands, and I found some great songs. This one’s my favourite.” And she showed me this:

Why is it so hard to find the real version of this video on YouTube? :/ (BTW, for those of you that didn’t read my FT Island post, Jeremy and Shinwoo are characters from our first k-drama)

Anyways, I fell in love almost instantly. The song was so good. And they guys were so cute. The MV seems to be about this rock band who are kind of in a slump, but somehow get transported back in time to a band contest. They blow the judges (and viewers) away and win easily, and Hongki even gets the adorable girl. They become famous, and five young children (who seem to be the members’ younger selves) see them on TV and are inspired to pursue music (wow!) Then they travel back to the future and…become re-famous? I’m not exactly sure. Anyways, that’s my interpretation. I absolutely love it, and the song. Me and Maggie know it almost off by heart.

Since I watched this video (and by the time I’m writing this, it’s been almost a year) I have fallen deeply in love with this band, and I’ve gotten to know them quite well. Even though this isn’t k-pop, but rather k-rock, I find it equally amazing, as well as catchy. It actually kind of reminds me that before k-pop, I was a rock fan. Not, like, hard rock. But it was rock. And that’s why I fell in love with them so quickly.

There is, unfortunately, no real dancing in this video, like there is in most k-pop videos. Well, this isn’t k-pop, after all, and FTI is not a boyband. But I do like their little side-steps at 1:22. Hehe. Their instrument-playing makes up for it all, though! I’d like to see you sing, dance and play an instrument at the same time. especially if you’re a drummer.

I’m just going to throw it out there that the boys look really friggin’ good in this video. Hongki’s orange hair is amazing, I am forever jealous of their red pants, and their bowties are way squee-worthy. Okay, so maybe Jaejin looks like a nerd in his glasses and horrible mushroom cut. I don’t like mushroom cuts. But he’s cute nonetheless. Also, Hongki’s dual-coloured pants are very laughable. What’s with those?? Anywho, their clothes are very cute, as a whole. Love ’em.

By the way, in the video, that’s lead vocals Hongki with the orange hair, guitarist, rapper and maknae Seunghyun with the white hat and the rap solo at 1:50, lead guitar Jonghun with the bow-tie and the guitar solo at 3:10, bass and vocalist Jaejin with the red glasses and bowlcut and solo at 2:56, and drummer and other maknae Minhwan hiding there at the drums at 3:31-ish. You don’t see him a lot, which is too bad because he’s cuuuute.

I don’t know if you even want the translated lyrics, but I’ll provide them anyways, because I’m admittedly curious. I’ve seen them before, but I forgot. So here’s the link! Enjoy!

So that’s about it. The lyrics are pretty depressing for such a cute MV. Huh. Well, that’s Koreans for you. The MV does not need to make sense. They hardly ever do. Ah well. Anyways, enjoy your music. I’ll be back with a new song you probably have never heard before later today 🙂 This will likely be the case every day for the next while–one top song, one less-known song. Just to mix things up. You’re welcome! Anyways, FT Island, fighting! ^^

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SotD-FT Island’s “I Hope”

  1. Pingback: SotD-CN Blue’s “LOVE” | beckysmusicblog

Leave a Reply

