SotD#2-Teen Top’s “Supa Luv”

Yes. You heard me right. I just said “Supa Luv.” Often when Maggie and I hear song names like this, we feel inclined to back away slowly. They make us think of Justin Bieber, frankly. Or some other form of extreme fruitiness. But this song, by Teen Top (the same band that performed “Candy” once), was an exception. We didn’t know the band well yet, and we wanted to check them out, because we’re constantly trying to broaden our k-pop horizons. So we dutifully looked them up and clicked on their MV for this unfortunately named song.

Let me tell you, this song is mega-catchy. It’s been stuck in my head all day. “SOO-pa-luv-uh-uh-uh-uh-uh, SOO-pa-luv-uh-uh-uh-uh.” It’s kind of addicting. The MV is here and the Dance Practice video is here. The dance is epic. No lie. Also, for a rookie group, they are extremely talented. I am impressed. So synchronized! Wow. And…omo…so cute. They’re like a group of uljjangs (a Korean term literally meaning “best face,” used to describe people that either have above-average looks or are basically famous for being good-looking. Also spelled ulzzang). Too adorable.

I don’t have a ton to say about this song. It’s pretty self-explanatory. I love it because it’s a great dance song and it’s catchy and I just do. I bet you will too. Well, I guess it took a couple of listens to really like it. But dang, it gets stuck in your head! It’s stuck in mine right now! Just downloaded it an hour ago XD Addicting, I say!

Also, I love how in the dance video, the guys all have their names taped to their sweaters in huge letters. I was going to tell you “Look, I don’t have to tell you who’s who!” but then I realized most people can’t read Korean writing (aka Hangul). So I’ll just say L. Joe is the one with pink hair (awesome!) and yellow sneakers, Ricky is the one in blue, Changjo is the one in all black, Niel (short for Daniel–they pronounce it Nee-yell) is in all gray with kind of dull, gray-brown-blond, CAP is in sweats and a hat, and Chunji is the one with his hood up at the beginning (black sweater) and later you can see his brown and blond hair. Once I know more about them, I will write a proper bio. I’m still just learning myself. Anyways, they are awesome. Love them a lot! ^^

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

