SotD-Super Junior’s “Sorry Sorry”

Yay! Super Junior! I was totally excited to write this post, not gonna lie. Today I present to you Super Junior’s “Sorry Sorry”, the second boy band video in my k-pop journey, and the one that really got us hooked on boy bands.

Here’s the normal music video, though I prefer the dance version:

I know I’ve already talked about this song a bit, in my SuJu profile, so I’ll be fairly brief. This song is obviously an “apology” song, and the lyrics, though repetitive, are dang catchy. I believe it’s about this guy (or 12) who is having some serious regrets about ending a relationship. Or something. It’s also the song that made Super Junior so popular, and was the band’s most successful single in music charts, winning a grand total of 10 recognitions during its promotion period.

The English in this song is admittedly hilarious. Seriously, you gotta love it. Whether it’s the repetition of the words “Sorry sorry” and “Shawty shawty” (HAHAHA!) or the soulful “Let’s dance”s, or just the non-sensical “Ddanddanddanddan”s, there is nothign not to like about this song’s lyrics. They’re just too great. AND, I can’t even deduct any points. Anywhere. All of the English consists of one or two words here and there (albeit said many times), and all seem to make perfect sense. Well done, guys! (Here’s the link for the lyrics)

The dance (which is beyond insane) was actually choreographed by Nick Bass, who also worked for Janet Jackson and Justin Timberlake. The choreography matches the lyrics perfectly, and despite the humorousness of pretty much the whole thing, it’s undoubtedly epic. I mean, how often can I now use those dance moves? All the freakin’ time! (By the way, if you didn’t know, the hand motions they do during the “sorry sorry” part are actually how people plead for forgiveness in Korea. Maybe in other places too. But I’d never seen it before. As far as I know, they usually use these actions in shows or to be funny). I am continuously amazed by Eunhyuk’s smooth dancing skills, but the others as well. WOW. So in synch. The way all thirteen (twelve? No Kibum?) of them move as one, like a robot, is just so awesome. It might not be very cool at all with just a couple members, but together, they are UNSTOPPABLE. No lie.

Now, they’re not always all there. Heechul only enters pretty late, just in time to sing his lines, and Siwon leaves and returns at some point. I am assuming either they were injured or incredibly busy at the time. What is it with these guys? (It always seems to be those two, too). Ahh, I don’t think Kibum is there at all. Wait, he’s in the normal MV! Just not the dance. So it’s only twelve of them. So sad! Anyways, there are quite a few parts of this dance that stick out to me, apart fromt he obvious ones (aka the chorus). For example, Donghae’s obligatory sexy and/or show-off dance moves at 1:34 and 3:18, and the tutting from 2:28 to 2:37.

Not that those are necessarily my favourite parts! Oh no. I, of course, am especially fond of Yesung’s part at 2:42 (Yay Yesung!), the line thing at 2:47, Leeteuk’s laugh at 1:11, the failed Siwon/Eunhyuk high-five at 3:07, Heechul’s stealthy entrance at 2:56, Donghae’s turn at 3:15, and 3:31 to the end. AWESOME! (This is all in the dance version, by the way. Told you I liked it better.)

Anyways, the dancing is epic and the song is addicting. The official MV (not the dance ver.) is nothing special to watch (as in it has no plot or anything) but I still love it, especially for learning names/faces. It’s basically a lot of close-ups of the members of SJ, singing. And lots of dance scenes. That’s all they do. But dang if that isn’t enough, because their dancing is so amazing!

Also, here’s a link to (from left to right) Shindong, Kyuhyun, Eunhyuk and Leeteuk singing the “ballad version” of Sorry Sorry. So funny. They did this for pretty much no reason on a talk show. Also, it’s pretty epic. I love these guys. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=okPBtwfBpQA Also, sorry the quality is a little sketchy. I did my best.

So, this was my second k-pop song. Can you see why I fell in love? After we discovered it, we shared it with everyone we knew, but somehow no one liked it as much as us. But I’ll never forget that first time, when my mind nearly imploded from the awesomeness. *sigh* Ah, the memories it brings back…

Also, here’s a video of Leeteuk and Eunhyuk on a roller coaster, singing Sorry Sorry for reasons I cannot fathom. Some kind of game show challenge, I think. Dang, I died laughing. XD Oh Super Junior. Only you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJskbHGhawM&feature=related There’s also another video of SuJu on a roller coaster, which literally made me cry because I laughed so hard, but it has nothing to do with the song, so I won’t post a link. You can watch it if you like, though! It’s the funniest thing on earth, I believe.

Ok, one last thing. Members! For the normal version of the MV. Gah, so many of them -_- Here we go. Yesung: 1:57 (sides) and 3:02. Kyuhyun: 0:37 (right) and 0:58 and 3:09 (sides). Donghae: 0:39 (right) and 1:54. Leeteuk: 0:37 (left) and 0:48 (left) and 1:25. Sungmin: 0:39 (center) and 1:08 and 1:15. Siwon: 0:35 (center) and 0:50. Kangin: 1:57 (center) . Eunhyuk: 0:48 (right) and 1:19 and 2:47. Shindong: 2:32. Ryeowook: 1:04 and 1:12. Hangeng: 0:41 (center). Heechul: 2:44 and 3:17. Kibum: 2:45. From 1:26 to 1:34 the order is Leeteuk, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Hangeng, Shindong, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun. From 3:35 to 3:46 the order is Siwon, Ryeowook, Donghae, Kyuhyun, Heechul, Eunhyuk, Sungmin, Leeteuk, Hangeng. And the order from 3:58 to 4:01 (good luck catching them all!) is Hangeng, Siwon, Heechul, Leeteuk, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Ryeowook, Sungmin, Yesung, Shindong, Kibum. Man, where’s Kangin? Anyways, love ’em!

So that’s Sorry Sorry. If anyone knows Super Junior, they know this song. It is the bomb. It is mind-blowing. You should watch it, and you should love it. Super Junior, fighting!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SotD-Super Junior’s “Sorry Sorry”

  1. Pingback: SotD-Super Junior M’s “Super Girl” | beckysmusicblog

Leave a Reply

