SotD-2NE1’s “Lonely”

Here it is! As promised, 2NE1’s “Lonely.” I really, really love this song. Which is surprising, because I usually don’t like 2NE1, or girl groups as a whole. Now, I do like some, but not a lot. This was definitely an exception. This song is just so great. Well done, 2NE1. (As a sidenote, the new B2ST/Beast CD came out today, so anticipate one of their new songs soon :D)

I found this song very easily–it was on the front page of YouTube under Most Viewed and Music for several days. Also, it was trending Worldwide on Twitter for a while. As you can see, it is already very popular. And for good reason.

A bit about 2NE1–it’s pronounced either Twenty-One (more like twenny-one) or To-Anyone. You choose, I’ve heard it both ways. It’s a 4-member girl group formed in 2009 under YG Entertainment, the same company as Big Bang. The members’ names are CL, Minzy, Dara and Bom (all are stage names except Bom, which is one of the only one-syllable Korean names I know. Also, Dara’s just a shortened form of her real name, Sandara–which happens to be one of the only three-syllable Korean names I know). They’ve got this strong, feminine style, kind of hip-hop, and they’re often quotes as the female Big Bang. They once sang a song–Lollipop–with Big Bang for a commercial, and I really like it, so expect to see a review of it one day.

Anyways, the first time I heard this song, I was also doing a couple other things at the same time, so I didn’t listen to it that well, and although I thought I liked it, I didn’t really pay any attention to it and kind of forgot about it. Then on Saturday my friend Jennifer asked me if I had seen it, and I said I had, but I didn’t really remember it. So when we got back to her house she showed it to me again, and this time I totally fell in love. It’s just–such a pretty song. Their voices are amazing, the mood is perfect, and I love them.

The first thing I noticed about this song was the way the chorus gets stuck in your head RIGHT AWAY. Which is kind of weird for ballads. But seriously, I’ve been singing it for the past three days. And the best part is, I can actually reach the notes–especially if I’m singing really loud. So we did a lot of loud singing on Sunday. (By the way, the chorus is all English, so I can actually say the words. And they use their English correctly! Woohoo!)

There’s no dance to this song, but that doesn’t mean I don’t still like the MV, found here. They’re all wearing kind of funky clothes, but the lighting is dark and shadowy and unsaturated, so you get this kind of cold, desolate feeling, which really helps enhance the “lonely” theme. The four girls are seen walking around, their faces obviously expressing their emotions, which are not so happy and cheerful. They all kind of look like they’re about to cry. I find it strange that they’re singing so powerfully, though, when their lips are barely even moving. Hmm.

Speaking of singing powerfully, they do an amazing job. Honestly, this is one of those songs where even though I can’t really understand the lyrics, I still want to cry because I can feel their emotion. Very, very impressive. An outstanding song, and outstanding singers to go with it. Vocals get a 10 out of 10.

At the end of the music video, they’re all standing in from of a window, and you can see the word “LONELY” outside, and they’re looking back over their shoulders dramatically, and for some reason it just makes me want to clap. Well done, girls! You’ve impressed me.

And for the curious, the members are CL-0:01 to 0:09 Minzy-0:10 to 0:20 Dara-0:21 to 0:24 Bom-0:40 to 0:49. They all look pretty distinguishable, so you shouldn’t have too much trouble finding them after that 🙂

So that’s about it. A truly great song. I like it a lot. I hope to hear more stuff like this in the future from them. Fighting!

-Rebecca

PS-I started watching Idol League, a variety show with U-Kiss and ZE:A, so I’ve been listening to a lot of ZE:A lately. Expect a song from them next. Not that I’m making any promises…

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SotD-2NE1’s “Lonely”

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Korean Girl Group Songs – Part 1 | beckysmusicblog

Leave a Reply

