SotD-FT Island’s “Hello Hello”

Yay! Another new song and MV! A whole bunch of awesome new songs keep coming out, and it’s too much to handle all at once XD But I really wanted to review this one, because I absolutely love it. It’s FT Island’s new single, “Hello Hello.” I’m thinking I should always include the band name in the title starting now, because so many songs have similar names πŸ˜› Like, on my k-pop playlist on iTunes, I have two “Hello”s and now one “Hello Hello.” And they’re all great songs. But it’s a little bit repetitive.

This song came out on the 23rd, but I only fell in love after the first couple listens. I don’t know what it was, but on the third or fourth listen, I suddenly was like, “Wow. This is amazing.” It was weird, because the first lines of this song make it seem like it’s going to be a totally intense rock song, but then suddenly at about 0:35 in the MV, it turns kind of upbeat and–not gonna lie–really addicting. It’s awesome. I loooooove their new style. After this song, I immediately downloaded their entire album (Return) and their last Japanese album (Five Treasure Island). Both are freaking amazing, and I plan on buying them both ASAP. Good stuff.

I said in my FT Island post that they’re a pretty mellow rock band, most of the time. They also have some great, super-powerful ballads and some cute love songs. Well, in the two albums I just mentioned, they suddenly turned more–how can I say this–hardcore. But in a good way. The feeling is different. Not so much cutesy, and not so much balladsy. More rockish, I think. I really love it.

I’m really digging the guys’ new looks in this MV. Hongki’s back to black hair (and it looks awesome) and Jaejin’s gone blond, which looks surprisingly good. They look totally different from the last song of theirs I reviewed, which was “I Hope.” They all look very serious and intense, and kind of…emo? Yeah, I guess so. And yet they’re still all adorable.

This song is so catchy and addicting. I am seriously in love. Also, I was surprised by how much of it I understood without looking up the lyrics. My Korean must be improving πŸ™‚ The song’s about this guy who loves this girl, but she doesn’t love him, but he can’t seem to get her out of his mind. So he keeps saying “Hello” and then changing his mind and saying “Goodbye” and back and forth, unsure of what to do. There’s an English translation here.

It took me a while to warm to the MV (found here), but now I really, reeeeeally like it. It also took me a while to figure out what it meant, and I’m still pretty sureΒ  have no idea. But it’s okay, because I love the guys and the song so much. Also, the 25 second intro is a little annoying. But oh well. I guess it would take away from the awesomeness of the video as a whole.

The video starts out with everyone gathering around to watch a fire truck pull up in front of a building, which is apparently on fire (though all you actually see is a little trickle of smoke coming out the window–not very serious-looking). There’s a (Caucasian) news reporter (does it take place in America or something? :/) and police tape and a bunch of people, and you suddenly see lead-singer Hongki pushing through the crowd with a guitar strapped to his back, looking kind of frantic. I’m going to assume he knows somebody inside. But I could be wrong. After a while, he can’t handle just standing there anymore and takes off his guitar before running inside the building. This is then followed by him becoming overwhelmed by the smoke in the burning apartment and collapsing to the ground (a lot of good you did) and passing out. A bit later, he wakes up in a dream-like state and sees–his band performing in one of the rooms? This is where people started assuming he had died or was dreaming. One of those two. Anyways, he spends the rest of the video singing in that weird room, until the end, where his other band members are seen escaping the building unharmed, though he’s not with them. Dead? We’re assuming so. So sad! Hongki! A bit later you see him watching them sadly, and I’m going to guess that it’s his ghost. But I could be completely wrong. I just don’t know. Anyways, it’s totally depressing. But really, really well done.

I don’t know who makes/produces FT Island’s music videos, but they must be geniuses. Every emotion and feeling and mood is captured so perfectly in all their videos. The lighting and costumes and sets in this video are spot-on for the emotions they were going for–which is basically dark, gloomy, and depressing. It really gives you the feeling of a dreary, cloudy day (kind of like I’m experiencing right now–dang rain). The random red pants and shirts and guitars are perfect, the glaring lights in a badly-lit room are perfect, the almost-black-and-white saturation is perfect, everything is perfect. I have to give this video an 11 out of 10. Wow. Well done, FTI.

Unfortunately, there is no dancing in this video (as FT Island is not a boy band) but the acting is really great. Hongki’s always amazing, and this video was no exception. The other guys don’t have many opportunities to show off their acting skills, but what I do see, I’m impressed with. They capture the mood perfectly. Which, now that I think about it, is actually almost dreamlike and whimsical in a creepy, depressing, emo, Tim Burton-esque way. At least, the beginning is. Later on it turns more powerful and emotional and intense.

The vocals, of course, are outstanding. Hongki’s always been amazing–and I mean amazing–at expressing emotion through his singing. Sometimes he makes himself cry. Haha. But really, he does. And that says something. He really puts his heart into his music. And his voice is 100% fantastic. I think he is incredible. And the others–Seunghyun’s rap, Jaejin’s parts–are awesome as well. I have zero complaints here. Apart from the fact that when they say “listen up” at 0:52-0:52, I totally thought they were saying “you should know.” Huh? As a band, their English pronunciation is not top notch. But anyways, I’d have to say my favourite part is at 2:34-2:44. There’s just something about it…I love Hongki. I actually have several favourite parts, but that’s one of them. Awesome.

So basically, one of my favourite videos of the year so far. I don’t know what it is about it, but seriously, it’s amazing (if a bit confusing). The only reason I didn’t like it in the first place was because it was kind of weird and I didn’t get it. But now I think it’s awesome. And you should too.

So, for new fans (Primadonnas, they’re called :P) here are the members: Hongki, looking awesome with his new haircut, on lead vocals, seen at 1:18 and 3:29 and pretty much the entire video. Maknae Seunghyun on rhythm guitar and rapping, seen at 1:51. Newly blond Jaejin on bass and subvocals on top of the fire truck (o_O) at 0:55 and 2:37. Leader Jonghun on lead (red!) guitar at 2:46 and 1:58 (he gets very few parts :(). And lastly, very-rarely-seen Minhwan on drums at 2:41 and 1:59. I am jealous of Seunghyun’s red pants.

Anyways, that’s all I have to say for now. The whole mini-album was great–I’m thinking of doing an album review for this one too. There are only 5 songs, but I like them all, especially “Oh!” And I’d like “Sunshine Girl” a lot more if it had less ridiculously cheesy lyrics πŸ˜› Sorry, FT Island. I still love you! Everyone, please love them a lot. They deserve a lot more attention, because they are stellar. Fighting!

UPDATE: FT Island just performed this song live for the first time, and as expected it was freaking fantastic. I don’t know how Hongki does it, but he’s an amazing live singer. Link! Awesome.

-Rebecca

PS-today is SHINee’s 3rd debut anniversary! Yay! Can’t wait for their comeback. Go SHINee!

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

