SotD-One Way’s “Magic”

A song I just discovered out of nowhere! Yay! It’s One Way’s “Magic” and I totally love it.

I’m trying to remember how I even heard of this band, but I’m kind of at a loss. I think I just saw their name somewhere and decided to look them up, but…I seriously don’t know. This wasn’t the first song of theirs I heard, though; when I looked up the band on YouTube, the first song that came up was their single “One Way.” I wasn’t a big fan of that one. Luckily, I liked it enough to look at one other video, which was “Magic.” And I fell in love.

This song is just really…my style, I guess. I don’t know if my sister would like it, say, but I love it. It’s so catchy, and the vocals are great, and the beat is fantastic…awesome. Also, I know that all three members are completely fluent in English, so that’s cool. The band One Way is composed of Chance (real name Michael Kim), Peter Hyun, and YoungSky (real name Cho Junyoung). They’re a mainly R&B group, managed by YJ Entertainment, and they’re getting pretty well-known for composing their own music. They all met each other in high school (Peter and YoungSky in Sydney, Australia, and YoungSky and Chance in California, USA). So I’m guessing they kind of formed their own band, rather than being put together by management companies like most boybands. Actually, now that I think about it, they’re not really a mainstream boyband at all. Not like the stuff I usually review. That’s kind of cool. I think I’ll like them a lot.

The video for Magic is here:

But I’m not really into the music video. It’s good–don’t get me wrong–but that’s not why I like it, nor have I paid a lot of attention to it. It’s mostly just them dancing and singing with some female backup dancers. Meh. And the choreography is nothing special. But the song is just so good. Love the use of falsetto, and love the fedoras ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve heard a lot of people compare their style to Taeyang, and also to Ne-yo (I don’t actually really know who that is -.-), and I agree with the first one. Has the same kind of feel.

The song is basically about how this guy’s girlfriend left him, but he still loves her, and so on. Oh, and he wants to “cast a spell” on her so that she’ll come back. Something like that. And all their English, of course, is perfect.

I feel like I don’t have anything else to say O_O My last posts have been really short, mostly because they’ve all been from band’s I don’t know well, or don’t have music videos. So I guess that’s all for this one. It’s an amazing song, even if it’s not what I usually listen to. So addicting. Please enjoy, and support One Way. As the would say, One Way, One Sound, One Love ๐Ÿ˜€ Fighting!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

