SotD-2PM’s “Take Off”

Yes! I did it! I found a 2PM song that I really love 😀 Not the best song EVER, but I like it quite a bit. Yay 2PM! This is their Japanese debut single, “Take Off.” I like 🙂

It took me a while to find this song. It just came out in May, actually. I actually first heard it when I watched a brief clip of 2PM dancing on a show, and this was the song. (It was this clip, by the way–only the first bit is dancing) Anyways, I was so impressed by their dance that I wanted to see if it was actually a part of the choreography or if they were just freestyling (it’s the latter, unfortunately), so I looked up the song. I watched the dance version (better–I just watched the real MV yesterday and it was kind of weird O_o) and the dancing was awesome, as usual, but I discovered that I actually liked the song. Yahoo! So I downloaded it, and have been enjoying it ever since.

This is the dance version:

The real MV is kind of strange and random and lame (about them…going to space or something) but I like the dancing better. The choreography is cute and fun, and pretty impressive. I like it a lot. And the song itself is majorly catchy, like most 2PM songs.

By the way, I just discovered that this song is actually the ending song of a Japanese anime, Ao no Exorcist. Never heard of it, but that’s awesome anyways! Nicely done, boys!

Most of the English of this song is very good–the pronunciation is great, and several members speak it fluently. But this one verse is kind of awkward:

Low low low to the flow We got a future kanjirou (aiight!)
Baby make that and break down let’s jump up, let’s jump up! (oh!)
We’re gonna go high, jidai kaiketsu motometa do you want it? oh my God!
Everybody do it now sonomama we will show you how
Baby it’s my dream but sore wa just joking
Let me hear kimi ni todokeru we are ready, let’s take off! (credit to this person)

Anyways, kind of weird. Not awful, just awkward. Doesn’t make a lot of sense. But that’s okay. I still love you, Nichkhun! And Taecyeon, who sings the second half!

This song is once again basically just a love song. The chorus translates to this:

ready ready ready for the take off
Lets rise heading for the unknown world
So (so) don’t let go of that hand

ready ready ready for the take off
The place where the dream is the goal
Grab this connection that you have hold of (credits to this person)

So yeah, your average cute love song. But catchy and awesome nonetheless. I don’t know how their Japanese pronunciation is, but I haven’t heard any complaints, so go 2PM!

One more thing to mention: look at their costumes! So shiny and cool! Totally spacey. Can’t say I looove the shiny silver pants, but hey, at least they’re not tight shiny pants. I have seen that before. It is not pretty. The boys are all looking good, as usual–no weird haircuts, no awful makeup. I’ve actually never seen a bad haircut on 2PM, at least that I can remember. So that’s a nice change.

Members are as follows: Junho at 0:07, 1:58 and 1:01, Wooyoung at 0:18 and 0:48, Chansung at 0:43 and 1:44, Junsu at 1:15 and 2:13, Nichkhun at 1:31 and 2:26, Taecyeon at 2:34.

So yeah; great song, great dancing, great band. I like it a lot, and I hope to find new good 2PM stuff in the future. New music video coming out soon! And album. I’m excited. Yay for 2PM!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

