SotD-Jang Woo Hyuk’s “Time is [L]Over”

"I Am The Future" Album Cover

I’m back! 😀 This time with one of my new favourite songs ever, Jang Woo Hyuk’s “Time is [L]Over” (also just called “Time is Over”). It is so epic.

My sister actually discovered this song when she was flying back home from China, and this song was on her plane’s k-pop playlist. Awesome, right? I’d heard of the song before, because it was all over allkpop.com and so on. Jang Woo Hyuk is actually a former member of the ooooold k-pop band H.O.T. I mentioned them before when I spoke of their song “Candy.” This song…is nothing like “Candy.” Just so you know. Anyways, Jang Woo Hyuk is now 33 years old, but doesn’t look a day over 25 (seriously…Asians age well O_O) and has returned for a solo comeback. He is an amaaaaaaaazing dancer (his popping is mind-blowing, no lie) and although he was originally a rapper for H.O.T. he also has strong vocal skills. This is the only song be him I’ve found so far that I like, but he now has my respect.

So anyways, here’s the music video for this song. Prepare to have your mind blown.

I’ll start with the song. So freaking catchy! The ticking at the beginning is sweet, as well as memorable, and the buildup towards the start of the vocals is awesome (from 0:11 to 0:19). And then the vocals at 0:19…that’s what got me. I loved it. And the whole song is awesome. It gets stuck in my head like crazy, and it just has a fantastic beat and melody and everything. I’m no musical genius (haha…not even close -_-) but all I know is that I LOVE this song, and that makes it amazing. I can’t pinpoint exactly what it is about a song that makes it great, but I do know that I love this one, and I enjoy listening to it, and therefore I respect the singer, composer and producer, whoever they may be.

The lyrics (found here) seem to me to be about a guy who’s realizing how much he loves a girl, who it seems he used to go out with, but broke up with… Anyways, that’s what I got out of it. Typical pop song, no? Not a big fan of his use of English, because…well, what does “The time is over” even mean? Okay, so I kind of get it, but the grammar isn’t so good. Overall, not too bad, but he could have done better. Sorry, Woo Hyuk!

Now, for the video. All I can say is this: EPIC! The dancing is nothing short of fantastic (he has so much talent that it makes me never want to dance again…), the lights and lasers are sweet, and that’s pretty much all there is to the video. Lights and dancing. And yet he managed to make that awesome. The backdancers make the music video (because let’s face it…just Woo Hyuk alone would have been lame) and the different outfits and scenes are pretty cool. I like the laser one the best, though 😀 Stellar!

There’s not much else to say, now, is there? I usually talk about the band or the individual members, but…I can’t really do that here. So instead I’ll just post links to the dance version, practice version, and a live version, because they are equally epic! Whoot! Jang Woo Hyuk is an outstanding dancer–one of the best I’ve ever seen. I respect him a lot. I also envy him to no end, seriously. Curse him and his mad skills!

Dance Version:

Practice Version:

And Live Version:

Also, because this is a short post, I will add my favourite dance moves from this song! I don’t know why. The first is at 1:07, when he does some sick chest-popping. I only wish I could pull that off. Wow. The next is at 1:33. I don’t even know what to call that. But I love it. 😀 And then at 1:40…that part always makes me laugh, for some reason. From 1:58 to 2:15, his robotic movements are actually mind-blowing, I think. How can someone move so stiffly? Cannot compute! And then 3:18 to the end–tutting. Beyond compare. I can’t get over how sweet that is. And the fact that he can do it live is also amazing. So jealous…. 😦 Anyways, epic dancing is epic. I love him.

And that’s about it. Go Jang Woo Hyuk! I wish him all the best in his solo career. Especially if he keeps coming out with songs like this. Whoo! Overall, freaking love this song and MV. Daebak. Fighting!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

