SotD-Kim Hyun Joong’s “Kiss Kiss”

I never meant to find this song. I came upon it purely by accident. I was just a-browsing some random person’s blog, and this song was playing in the background, and I was like, “What song is this?” So I went to check, and I saw that it was “Kiss Kiss” by Kim Hyun Joong of Boys Before Flowers and SS501 fame. Oh no!

It’s not that I dislike Kim Hyun Joong. I’m just a little bit embarrassed to admit that I actually like one of his songs. I’m not sure why. I loved him in BBF, and I liked him the best in SS501, and I think he’s a good singer and ridiculously good-looking. Maybe it’s because this song is extremely cheesy. I don’t know. But when I learned that it was by KHJ, I was like, “Oh. That’s embarrassing.” I find him a little bit cheesy in the first place. I can totally see why everyone loves him, though. As a person, he’s freaking awesome and funny and weird and adorable. But I’ve never liked his music in general. Sorry, bro. Also, as Jihoo…man, that guy just couldn’t catch a break. I cried for him many times. But that’s off the subject.

This song is so catchy and cute, even if the lyrics are so lame. (Oh I won’t stop…loving youuuuuu) (I want your–kiss kiss!) I sing it all the time. It’s very american-sounding. Probably because it was originally an American song. Not officially released or anything–KHJ has full rights to it–but in English nonetheless. I doubt I would like it in English. I feel bad saying that, but it’s true. My taste in English music is much different than my taste in Korean music.

There’s a music video for this song, but I don’t like it that much. It’s just some clips of live performances, some random little videos of him, mixed with some clips of KHJ driving in a car, if I’m not mistaken. Here it is:

Nothing too special. I happen to like his live performance better, even if he’s not the best live singer–> linky The dancing/performance is pretty epic, I gotta say. Love the whole chairs concept. Sweet. Anyways, the lyrics are pretty dang cheesy. His English is not top notch either, though his pronunciation is fine–the grammar’s just a little off. The English translation is here. The meaning of the song is pretty much self-explanatory from the English. Cheesy, cute love song. What else is new? Still, way too catchy. And quite adorable.

I don’t have a lot to say about this song, if you haven’t noticed. I really like the song, and I’m even starting to have more respect for Kim Hyun Joong in general. The music video doesn’t really count as such, but the dancing is very cool. The English is cheesy and laughable, and the lyrics in general are not the most touching or meaningful, but that doesn’t stop it from being an adorable and way-too-catchy song. I like it a lot, and I’m not ashamed to admit it. KHJ, Fighting!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

