K-Drama Overview

A post not on K-pop! Oh my! Today I decided to do a brief overview on the dramas that I’ve watched and/or semi-watched. Because honestly, k-dramas are my favourite thing ever, next to k-pop. I was introduced to Korea this way–and through them learned about k-pop–and it really sucked me into the language, culture, and everything about it.

I was first introduced to my first k-drama last year, in late November. My sister came home from visiting her new friend and insisted on using our laptop, which I was currently using, because she absolutely had to watch something. She said her friend had showed her this show called “You’re Beautiful” which was a Korean drama. She tried to get me to watch, but I refused (I think I was bitter that she’d stolen the laptop from me). I did, however, watch a few minutes, when she pointed at the main character and said, “Does this look like a girl or a boy to you?” It was a hard question. I guessed correctly.

Anyways, soon after she got me to watch a whole episode with her, and I was hooked. It was so funny, and so strange, and so appealing in every way, and so addictive. It was already episode 5 or 6, but that didn’t matter. She explained as we went along. I continued to miss episodes when she watched without me, but I could never pass up the opportunity to watch more. By the end of the show (16 hour-long episodes, as usual) we were so addicted and in love that I almost cried when it ended. We were totally smitten.

So we watched another. And another. And since then, we have not stopped watching dramas. They are seriously the best thing ever. We don’t even watch American television anymore. Why bother? K-dramas are cleaner, cuter, funnier, and overall just better. Everyone we’ve showed them to has agreed. We have started the Hallyu Wave in Ontario. Your welcome, Korea!

Before I start, I would like to say that when we watch dramas, we try to read the recaps after every episode, to make sure we know exactly what’s going on. By recap, I mean this blog that we owe a lot to–> dramabeans.com. These people watch k-dramas and write about them episode by episode, explaining things that you might not understand if you’re not Korean. It is very, very, very helpful. I don’t know what we’d do without it.

[Warning: Possible spoilers ahead!]

So, that first drama we watched was You’re Beautiful, starring Park Shin Hye, Jang Geun Suk, Jung Yong Hwa (from the band CN Blue) and Lee Hong Ki (from the band FT Island). At the time, we were not aware of their fame. The plot revolves around Go Mi Nam (Shin Hye), who has joined the mega-popular band A.N. Jell (so lame) under the disguise of a boy, to replace her brother who is getting surgery. The reason she does something so drastic is because she and her brother are searching for their mom, who they never knew. This results in many awkward situations, hilarious moments, and a whole lot of drama, especially when all three boys in the band–the grumpy-butt Taekyung (Geun Suk), the sweet, perfect Shinwoo (Yong Hwa), and the adorable, oblivious Jeremy (Hong Ki)–all fall in love with her, while only the first two figure out she’s a girl beforehand. But, of course, Mi Nam only likes one of them. And of course it’s the one that hates her in the beginning. Oh no!

There’s a lot of confusion with gender, confused sexualities, and parents (as always), but this all slowly gets figured out. Me and Maggie always hated Taekyung, which is unfortunate because Mi Nam seems to be in love with him (why???) Maggie was absolutely, positively in love with Shinwoo (for good reason) and I was equally in love with Jeremy. There were moments when we cried for them, were happy for them, wanted to give them a hug. We got so wrapped up in it all. It was ridiculous. We actually dreamed about ways that Mi Nam would change her mind and go for Shinwoo, who was obviously the better choice. He was so sweet and caring! And Jeremy–poor, poor Jeremy, who never knew a thing. He was so dumb, but adorably so. So began our long line of Second-Lead syndrome–we always, always like the second (or third) lead better. There are few exceptions.

You’re Beautiful is still possibly the best drama I have ever watched. Maybe I’m biased, but it’s true. I loved it from beginning to end, and we’ve shown it to multiple people since, and they also all loved it. My best friend, my sister’s best friend, my sister’s best friend’s mom…who can hate this drama? It is the epitome of awesome. It’s wacky and funny and cute as heck, and I recommend it to anyone, of any age. But only if you have lots of time, or don’t mind staying up all night, because it’s literally addicting. I love it more every time I watch it. Seriously. So good.I could talk about it forever.

The next drama we watched was one we’d had recommended as one that wasn’t quite so addicting, but still good. We needed one like this because of school–we still wanted to watch, but we also needed to concentrate on other things for a while. It was called The Invincible Lee Pyung Kang. I really enjoyed it, but I didn’t get nearly so wrapped up in it. It was about this girl, Lee Pyung Kang, who worked at this golf resort. There’s a guy there, On Dal, who is the CEO’s son, and they’re always fighting about stuff. And then there’s this other guy, Edward (what’s with English names?) who knew Pyung Kang when they were younger, and wants to marry her. I liked him better. But I also liked On Dal. So it wasn’t too bad.

At first On Dal’s a jerk-face, but eventually he gets nicer, as they always do, and as the drama goes on–confusion with parents, people wanting to take over the resort, etc.–they fall in love. What else is new? It was an excellent drama, and I would love to watch it again sometime, but it’s not one of my all-time favourites. Also, at the beginning of each episode there was always this scene from the characters’ “past lives” which kind of showed how they were destined to be together and such things, but–we always skipped them. maybe they could have enriched our watching, but we just didn’t care. Sorry! (Now I want to watch this drama again…it was so funny. We still quote it to this day 😀 “You…hate me?”)

Wow, this post got very long very quickly. I guess I’ll have to move on to Part Two! As a summary: You’re Beautiful was my first, and it was very, very good. I am obsessed with it to this day. It will always have a special place in my heart. But Lee Pyung Kang was also good, even if it wasn’t nearly as addicting or enrapturing. Both excellent. I recommend them both.

And that’s all for now! You should watch them! 😀

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

