SotD-K-Pop Song Dump!

I haven’t posted in a while, because I’ve been a little more busy with school, and also nothing good has come out for a while. Or maybe I just haven’t heard it. The new B1A4 album was released today, and I LOVE it, but I’m waiting for the music video before I review it. Argh. Some girl groups made comebacks, but I’m not big into girl groups, so I didn’t want to post about them.

And also lately I’ve been feeling like I have way way way too many songs I want to review, many of which don’t have music videos, so I feel like it’s not necessary to post on them. So today, I’m going to do something new: a song dump. I’ll just be spewing awesome songs, giving out links, and talking about each one a little. I’m not sure which ones yet, but you’ll see soon enough. I’ll decide as I go along. They won’t all be new, but they’ll most likely be new to me. Here goes!

“Narcissism” by Blue Sky.

You have no idea how much trouble I went through to find this song. Holy craaap. I first heard it through this video, where Super Junior’s Leeteuk and Eunhyuk are dancing to it on their show, Super Junior Foresight. I found that clip totally randomly, too. Anyways, I loved the song–I found it insanely cute and awesome. But I didn’t know the name or artists or anything. All I had was a bunch of Hangul (Korean script) from the video clip that I couldn’t read, and didn’t even know if it had anything to do with the song. Since I couldn’t copy-paste it, I had to write it out letter by letter onto Google translate, which was difficult for me at the time, because I hardly knew hangul. To this day, I have no idea how I found that song. Maybe I ended up throwing some of the words into Youtube and hoping for the best. Or possibly it was through Google. All I know is that it took me for friggin’ ever. Like, a couple of days. I don’t know why I needed to know that badly, but I really couldn’t help it. I wouldn’t stop until I found it. (Even when I found the song, I had to go through a bunch of trouble trying to find the artist’s name, and a download link, and….wow, hard.)

Anyways, after all that, I finally had my song. It’s actually really old, from 1992. Before I was even born! And you can tell, from the style. And that’s why it was so hard to find–it’s not mainstream k-pop at all. But it’s really cute and cheesy and makes me smile, and I love it. The song is about a love triangle, I suppose, which explains the two male and one female singer, and also SuJu’s parody (though they twist the meaning in their skit, into something much more hilarious.) It’s impossible to find the lyrics in English, so I can’t really expand on that. I’m just happy knowing I finally found the song itself. It’s so happy and cheerful! Ahhh, love it. And apparently Super Junior does too. What a bunch of cuties. (I still love that clip.)

“Shake It Up” by Seo In Guk

This one actually does have a music video, but it’s nothing special. Love the black lights and crazy paint, though. I found this video by chance through allkpop.com, and loved it immediately. Never heard of the singer or anything, but the song was amazing, so I went and found it. There’s nothing really special or stand-out-ish about it, apart from the fact that it’s super catchy and awesome. And that’s all! I love it. Great stuff.

“Turned Off the TV” by Leessang

This was a song I didn’t like that much at first, but after a few listens totally fell in love with. Not your usual k-pop–in fact, I think it might be classified as hip hop. The video is totally weird but awesome, but I never got around to reviewing it. They don’t dance–they’re a rap duo. They usually don’t even sing, I think. I don’t really know anything about them. In fact, I always thought Leessang was one person. Oops. I can’t look into every single group in the world! Anyways, I listened to the song once, but it didn’t really stand out to me. Then my sister told me to watch it again, so I did, and the more I listened to it, the more I liked it. The vocals are great, I like the rapping, and overall I think it’s a fantastic song. I listen to it all the time now.

“Fly So High” by U-Cube (Beast, 4Minute and G.Na)

This is a collaboration song between the bands/artists under Cube Entertainment. I fell in love with it immediately. The vocals are amazing, the song is awesome, and I get so excited and happy when I hear it. I was surprised by how much I loved it. It just makes me want to jump around or something. And sing extremely loudly. Both of which I do, as long as I’m not in public. Nice! No video, but it doesn’t even need one. Just a great song, by great artists. 😀

“Not Alone” by Park Jung Min

My friend was the one to recommend this video, and I loved it right away. I never reviewed it, though, because I wasn’t a big fan of the music video. It’s not bad, I just didn’t like it that much. The song, though, is epic. I like the message, and I love the vocals and the power and emotion that Park Jung Min (of SS501 fame) puts into it. Really awesome. Not my usual style, but so great. I really like his voice.

“Fly” by Super Junior-KRY

I usually don’t like SJ-KRY, because they specialize in ballads and I don’t like ballads (usually). But this song isn’t a ballad at all! It’s a rock number, and they recorded it for a show called Super Star K. And I totally loved it, right from the start. It helps that two of the three members are basically my favourite people ever, and the third is pretty high up there. So it’s always nice to see them getting lots of screentime. Though Kyu has to leave in the middle because he was injured and had to rest (poor boy). The music video is just them singing and pretending to play instruments they actually don’t know how to play (unless they actually do and just don’t show it). Not too exciting. Anyways, the song is really catchy and fun and upbeat, and I really like it. Of course I do! It’s KRY! The vocals are, of course, amazing. Those three boys can’t go wrong. I speak the truth. That note at 2:45 made my sister go, “Oh Yesung…” Of course he gets that one. He’s my favourite belter. Also my favourite person in the world. But that is irrelevant.

“Please Let’s Live A Little” by FIX

This song is not well-known at all. It’s the OST song for a drama (I think) called “Big Hit”, sung by a new band that hasn’t even officially debuted yet. I found it randomly through allkpop (again) and really liked it. It’s kind of slow, but really pretty and sweet, and I like it a lot. The video is a mixture of scenes from the drama and little clips of the band. Nothing special. But I liked it a lot, and I wish this band well. Good start, my friends!

“Addiction” by Code V

Another little-known, random song. I’d heard of Code V, but hadn’t ever heard any of their songs. This was the first one I saw. I liked it a lot. It reminded me of “It’s You” by Super Junior (and I loooove that song). It’s kind of bittersweet and emotional, and really pretty, and I think the band’s really talented. The music video’s a little odd, but I like the artistry of it. The ink and everything. Cool. Most of it’s black-and-white, and the colours are all kind of washed out, which I like. The dancing’s good, the singers and rappers are good, and I just really like it. I haven’t found anything else from them that I like especially, but I think they’re a great band, talent-wise. They have a lot of potential. (By the way, this song was back from when they were named “Bless.” Hence the line “Bless is back.”) I feel really, truly sorry for them, though, because one time they were misquoted when they were talking about TVXQ, and now they get endless hate from those crazy TVXQ fans, which they don’t deserve. It’s really quite sad. Anyways, I love the song. A lot.

Last one!

“Ice Cream” by Joo & Leeteuk

Holy bajeebers, this song and video are ADORABLE. I’d like to do a whole review on it, but I just feel like there isn’t enough to say… Anyways, it’s so cute. I initially watched it because of Super Junior’s Leeteuk. And I think this is why I fell so in love with him (not that I didn’t always love him like crazy). The song is so sweet, and the video is even sweeter. I’d never heard of Joo, but I find her voice really pretty, and I think she’s great. And Leeteuk is just unbearably cute in the video. I mean, seriously. He does not look like a 29-year-old man. He looks like a five-year-old. Only cuter. I love love love the song (so bubbly and cute ^^) and I love the vocals, and the video is just adorable to no end. I can’t even express how great it is. I just want to watch it all the time. Pure looooove. *sigh* Anyways, it’s even better with the lyrics there.

This video reminds me of everything wonderful and cute in the world. Like puppies and rainbows and cheery blossoms and butterflies and stuff. I’ve always loved Leeteuk’s vocals, so I’m glad he finally got some lines in a song. He doesn’t get enough attention in Super Junior for his voice, which is expected, because they have so many members that only a few can shine through. Anyways, the two of them are adorable together, and I love the song to bits. My sister isn’t a huge fan, but all I can say is this video is just totally my style. I love these kinds of cutesy things. Seriously. ♥♥♥

Okay, that’s all. I’ll be back with more song sumps in the future! Look forward to it! 😀

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

