K-Drama Overview – Part 2

On to Part Two! I forgot to post this after I wrote it -_- Again, I’m just going to be talking about the dramas I’ve watched, and which ones I suggest or don’t suggest. Be sure to read Part One first! πŸ˜€

Okay, so my third drama ever was called My Girlfriend is a Gumiho. After reading the synopsis, I was very wary about watching it. It’s about this guy, Daewoong (played by the adorable Lee Seung Gi), who accidentally releases a legendary nine-tailed fox (called a Gumiho) from an ancient painting. The Gumiho appears in human form (and a very pretty human, at that) and takes on the name Miho (played by Shin Min Ah). Shortly after, Daewooong has a life-threatening accident, and to thank him for releasing her, Miho gives him her “fox bead” which is like–a mystical light orb that goes into his body. This fox bead enables him to live and recover. Since Daewoong is now indebted to her, he is forced to let her stay with him, even though he’s pretty much scared of her at first, because Gumihos are rumoured to eat the livers of humans. But of course if he tells anyone what she is, she can take back her bead and he’ll die.

We read this and were like…why did anyone even recommend this? It was written by the same people who wrote You’re Beautiful, though, so we had hope. And it was extremely popular. So we gave it a try. And boy, are we glad we did. It definitely started out very weird. How could it not? But within the first episode or two, the weirdness lessened and everything got a lot more normal. You almost forget that Miho is a…mystical beast. Yes, there are many cheesy moments and some bad CGI and things like that, but it’s just so great that you don’t even think about that. It all adds to the drama, and it turned out to be just as freaking amazing as You’re Beautiful. We totally fell in love.

There are more complications with the plot when this weird Gumiho-hunter guy (named Dongjoo, who is very good-looking, and very emo-ish) starts chasing her, and when Project Turn Miho Human takes on a twist, and of course when the two of them inevitably fall in love. Much, much, much drama ensues. I cried many times. It was a lot more intense and emotional than You’re Beautiful, because there was a lot more at stake, and it was a lot more heart-breaking. But of course, since it’s a rom-com, everything turned out all right in the end. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t agonizing and enrapturing right up to the end. There are many, many things I miss about this drama, and I loved it so much that I’m planning on watching it again very soon. Definitely one of my favourites ever. So many adorable moments, and so many tear-jerking moments. It was perfect. I loved it.

And then we watched Boys Over Flowers, which was a wildly, WILDLY popular drama when it aired. I must admit, it was very addicting and everything, but it wasn’t as good as the others I’d watched. It kind of dragged on at the end, to the point where I was like “They’re just trying to fit in as many twists as possible, aren’t they?” It was one of those shows where you’re just like “Oh–the–DRAMA!” It’s about this poor girl, Geum Jandi, going to this prestigious school, where the infamous “F4” also go. The F4 is this group of 4 super-good-looking guys that come from super-rich families that practically run the school. You do not get on their bad side. They could literally drive you to suicide (as you will see in ep 1).

The F4 consists of the leader, jerk-face curly-haired Gu Jun Pyo (played by the very-popular, very-dreamy Lee Minho), the adorable and kind of quiet violin-playing, all-white-clothes-wearing Yoon Jihoo (played by SS501’s Kim Hyun Joong), the player, good-looking So Yi Jung (played by Kim Bum) and this weird mafia-dude who speaks too much gangsta Engrish, Song Woobin (T-Max’s Kim Joon). At first they bother Geum Jandi whenever possible, but then Jun Pyo starts falling for Jandi (*gasp!* a rich boy falling for a poor girl!) and everything gets very complicated–especially because Jihoo starts falling for her as well. Most of this drama is based around the plotline of Jun Pyo’s parents being against him dating a poor girl, since she’s “beneath them”. There are a bajillion plot twists and cliches and love triangles thrown in there, but then, of course…everything turns out okay. What a surprise!

It was a fun drama, and I enjoyed it for the most part, but it was obvious that they were just throwing in random plot twists to keep their ratings up. I think it would have been better if they had made two seasons, and spaced things out a little more. Because a lot of it was “Oh no! A problem! And now it’s fixed. Oh no, another problem! And now it’s fixed.” For the whole drama. I of course liked Jihoo better of the two male leads (especially post-adorable-haircut :D), but Jun Pyo got pretty endearing near the end there. I’m happy with how things ended. I also liked this random character, Ming, who was a little too in love with his friend Jihoo. He was so random and hilarious. I was sad that he was only present for, like, one episode. There were a lot of things I loved about this drama, but there were also a lot of things that drove me crazy. I would still recommend it, definitely, but it’s not the best one out there. In my opinion, of course. A lot of people were and still are obsessed with it. Overall, it’s probably the #1 K-drama you have to watch, just because it includes pretty much every cliche, every trope, and everything a k-drama must have. Everything.

It’s a lot harder than I expected, summarizing my thoughts on each drama like this! Expect this series to go on for a while. In summary of my summaries, both My Girlfriend is a Gumiho and Boys Over Flowers were excellent dramas, but Gumiho definitely takes the cake. That was such a great drama. I recommend both of them, and I hope you will enjoy them as much as I did. Now, on to part three! πŸ˜€

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

