Album Review-Super Junior’s “A-CHA”

"A-CHA" album covers

I’m back with what is basically Part 2 of my Mr. Simple Album Review. I know that repackaged albums are basically just a way to bring in more money, but I always enjoy them, because heck, it’s just more awesomeness! Plus it means they’ll be performing live again, and releasing a new music video, which is always good. Anyways, I was excited for this album, because I loved the whole Mr. Simple album, and I knew I could expect more great things. I was not disappointed.

The title track, “A-CHA” is placed second on the repackaged album, after Superman. I talked about it in-depth here, so make sure you check that out.

This song is a catchy, driving dance track that fits right in with the beginning of the album. It’s a little spazzy and choppy, with the boys biting through their lines with driving synths and pounding beats in the background. I totally love the song, but it’s not one that’ll leave a really lasting impression. I love how even in their dance tracks, SJ will take breaks to do a little belting (courtesy of KRY and, for once, Leeteuk. Oooh). It kind of balances out the robotic feel and autotune. I loved the song as soon as I heard it, and it’s an easy one to get stuck in your head all day. Nice!

After that is Mr. Simple, and then the next new song, “Oops!” (ft. F(x))

This song is largely rap, so I don’t really like it. The awkward use of English was also somewhat of a turn-off. But it also makes me laugh. The song only includes Donghae, Leeteuk, Eunhyuk, Heechul, and Shindong, or the Rap Line. The lyrics are really funny, and I think it suits SJ’s random, hilarious side. I’m also happy the rappers get their share of the spotlight. The humorous, ridiculous delivery of the lines and hilarious ad-libs pretty much make this song. I personally don’t like it that much, but I think it’s a good addition to the album. Makes me chuckle, at least. Not a huge fan of the girls’ parts, but I suppose it was necessary for the song. Also, the boys wrote the lyrics themselves, so good for them. The ridiculous lyrics rather reflect those of Superman, don’t you think? But in a completely different light. Huh. Oh, but the live version of this is just so awesome. I laughed so hard. Seriously. Those guys are my favourite. Ahhh, too funny.

Next up is a complete change with “A Day.” So. Beautiful.

Is it just me or does the first line of this song sound just like “Y”? Just sayin’. It’s the first thing I thought of when I heard it. Anyways, I looooove this song. The vocals are fantastic, and the song is gorgeous. It’s a slow song that isn’t sad, for once. It’s pretty and sweet and soft, and it makes me feel all happy inside. There’s no rapping, but everyone gets a line anyways, which always makes me happy ^^ Yay for sharing! The guitar is really nice, too, and overall the song just really did it for me. I like this change in their style. It’s softer and earnest and sincere, and it brings out the best in Super Junior. A lovely song.

And lastly comes “Andante,” which is my favourite from the new batch. Pure love.

This song was actually written and composed by Leeteuk and Henry (two of my favourite people ever~) which makes it all the more awesome. But wait, Leeteuk only gets one measly line? Not fair! (I understand that Henry’s only in SJ-M, but I wish he’d get a line too. It’s his song!) The song is sung by Yesung, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun, Donghae, Leeteuk and Sungmin, otherwise known as the Vocal Line (yes, Donghae and Teukkie are both the Rap and Vocal Line. They’re often both part of the Dance Line as well.)  The song is, in short, the most beautiful thing ever. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating, but I love it. The vocals are amazing, of course, and the whole thing just blends together to make an awesome, awesome song. The simple but sweeping instrumental makes it all the more powerful, and overall it’s a very touching and emotional song. I like to listen to it when I’m walking home in the rain (we’ve been getting lots of rain these days…) It’s not a sad song, but it borders on heartstring-tugging. It’s really beautiful, and I can’t get enough of it. Wonderful.

Well, I think that’s all. Why only four songs??? Anyways, can’t wait to buy the whole album (yay!) and I hope you do too. SJ deserves it. Seriously. I’m pretty sure those guys don’t sleep. So yeah. Amazing repackage. AWESOME. Super Junior never disappoints! I look forward to seeing even more of them in the future. (They should come to Canada…. 😦 ) SJ fighting!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

