SotD-C-Real’s “No No No” and Kim Hyun Joong’s “Lucky Guy”

Another double-whammy! Just because my songs are totally piling up. New songs are attacking me from every side! Aghhh! Music overload! (And not only k-pop. Other genres as well. It’s almost stressing me out :P)

So first up is a new band’s debut song. And it’s a girl group! Omo! I was surprised when I listened to this song, after hearing it was good but mostly because MBLAQ’s Thunder was in it, and actually rather liking it. Then my sister mentioned liking it, and I listened to it again, and somehow discovered that I loved it. Who woulda known? Anyways, I present to you C-Real’s “No No No.”

So as I mentioned before, I initially watched this video because MBLAQ’s Thunder (aka Cheondoong) was in it, and that guy is adorable. But I was also curious about the new group as a whole, and I’d heard that it was a pretty good song. And it is. I really like the song in itself, and I like the concept the group went with. It’s very–wholesome. Unlike the cute/sassy/overly-girly images girl groups usually go for, C-Real went for innocent, pure and sweet. Their clothes were simple and pretty, but not revealing or super-stylish. Their makeup was very soft and clean. I loved it, because I don’t like the generic girl group look/style. It was extremely refreshing.

Not only that, but the group wasn’t just going off looks and styling. They have great voices. Seriously, they’re quite amazing. And very pretty. I like how all the comments are that the girls look similar to other idols–Hyuna, Yoona, Suzy, and…Teen Top’s Niel? No seriously, the main vocal totally looks like him! Something about the lips. She’s prettier, though πŸ™‚ Anyways, they’re all very pretty (of course) but their voices are really good as well, and I think they have a lot of potential.

So the video is pretty simple. They’re all spying on Thunder. He follows a feather trail to their forest cottage, but when he looks inside, he can’t find them. I don’t really get the point, but it’s full of cute and fluff. The scenery is really beautiful, though. The smoke, the feathers, the silvery trees, the sunlight. Very pretty.

The dance is super simple, but cute and sweet, like the song. I thought it went perfectly with their whole concept, even if it doesn’t exactly showcase their dancing talents. But then, it’d be hard to have a really spectacular dance to this song. It’s just not a dancey song.

The English is excellent. I suspect they have an actual English speaker! Looking at their names, I would think so, but with Koreans, you never know. (Look at Teen Top’s Ricky. He can’t speak a word.) Anyways, all their English makes sense and is pronounced perfectly. Nice! (By the way, their names are Chemi, ReDee, Effie, Ann J and Lenny. C-R-E-A-L. C-Real. See? But I gotta say…terrible names. Sorry!)

The lyrics are pretty average. You can see them here. They’re about this girl who is dating this guy, whom she loves very much, but she suspects is cheating on her and/or doesn’t love her back. All her friends are telling her to break up with him, but she just can’t do it. (If I were you, I’d dump him. He sounds like a total jerk.) However, I fail to see how this relates to the video.

As for the members…well, I don’t know them at all, apart from their names. It appears that the girl at 0:03 is Ann J, the girl at 0:27 is Chemi, the girl at 0:33 is Lenny, the girl at 0:40 is Effie, and the girl at 0:58 is ReDee. That’s all I can do for you. My favourite is Chemi, because I like how she looks different, with her round face and short hair, and also I think she’s very pretty and she has such a beautiful voice. That is all. Oh, I also like how every member–not just the ones the company finds the prettiest–gets a good amount of screentime, as well as parts in the song. Nice πŸ™‚

This band was promoted as “five IUs” (IU being an extremely popular solo artist known for her innocent charm and looks as well as her incredible voice), so they had high expectations to live up to. But I feel like they did well. I downloaded their whole mini-album, and to my surprise, I kind of really like it! I look forward to seeing more of this band in the future, because they’re one of the only girl groups I can stand. WOW! I like this song a loooooot now. They deserve recognition. Awesomeness.

——

Next up, Kim Hyun Joong’s “Lucky Guy”! I feel like I don’t have a ton to say about this song or video. I don’t even like it thaaaaat much. But somehow I feel obligated to review it anyways. Huh.

So my previous experiences with KHJ have been few and far in between. Meaning, I know one song by him, but I love it (“Kiss Kiss”, anyone?) When he came out with a new mini-album, I listened to it excitedly, hoping for another winner. I ended up really liking “U”, but none of the others. Well, I didn’t mind the title song. It was okay.

But then I saw the music video and BAM–just like with MBLAQ’s “Mona Lisa”, I loved it. Not love loved, but I was slightly addicted to it forΒ  while there. One, the dance rocked. Two, it was super catchy. Three, Kim Hyun Joong is so cute. I didn’t even like the music video, but somehow it made me like the song. Huh.

The video is actually quite good, and rather clever. It shows off KHJ’s boyish, arrogant charm and his adorable smile, for one thing. And also how great he looks with his curly hair and sharp suit. It’s based in some past decade, with old-fashioned cars and garb, to match the oldies feel of the song, complete with trumpets and–Mario sound effects? Whatever. I liked them.

Anyways, there’s an actual plot, for once. It starts out with him smiling cheekily for his mug shots–he’s Most Wanted, it would seem. Cut to him driving in his flashy car. He stops to pick up this sexy lady by the side of the road, who is having car troubles and wearing too-skanky clothes. He takes her with him to some fancy party (‘m assuming time lapsed in between there, because they’re wearing different clothes and seem rather close), where he starts rolling in the dough at a gambling table (though they’re actually playing “Blue Marble”, a Korean game similar to Monopoly).Β  Anyways, Hyun Joong wipes the smirk off his opponent as he strips him bare. His girl gets up and leaves, but he doesn’t take much notice. We see her talking to someone on her bluetooth in the powder room. Then she comes in and handcuffs him–she’s seen his Wanted posters, and she’s an undercover police. (I’m assuming his former charges have to do with gambling…) He flashes her a smile as he leaves with the police. Not too easily fazed, now, is he? In the end, he’s holding up an “End” sign and flashing a cheeky smile and a peace sign.

Whoa, that’s the most complex plot I’ve seen in a music video in…maybe forever. And it even makes sense! Well done, Hyun Joong! Okay, I’m a teensy bit confused about the whole thing, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. It was quite intriguing. I just loved cheeky KHJ, without a care in the world and chock-full of self-confidence. He played it so well. His acting skills have improved! Throughout this whole video, he’s looking super-suave and awesome, and his smile is just epic. No lie. I’ve always found him exceptionally good-looking, but he’s looking dang fine in this video. Slick? Snazzy? Yeah, all those cool words.

The dance, as I mentioned before, is pretty awesome. I don’t know what about it makes it so great, but I can’t get over it. It’s not a particularly strong or impressive dance–it just looks cool. I’m trying to pinpoint what decade this whole style is coming from…apparently it was inspired by Ocean’s Eleven, and has a sort of 007 feel to it. Hmm, I’m drawing a blank. Anyways, it is epic. I love it.

The song itself isn’t amazing, but it is freakishly catchy, and I love the beat and the overall feel of it. Makes me smile πŸ™‚ The lyrics are quite unfathomable to me, though. What do they mean??? They seem to be talking about dancing. Maybe. I don’t know. I read them here.The English is…I don’t even know what to say about it. The song is about half English, but it seems more like a string of words rather than actual sentences. Not in a bad way–there’s just no real structure to it. It’s not gibberish, but it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense either. The pronunciation is pretty good, but there’s no way to make sense out of it, regardless. That’s all I can say.

It is no secret that KHJ is not a fantastic singer, nor a fantastic dancer. He is, however, a great entertainer. That doesn’t explain why he would win awards on music shows, though, apart from sheer popularity. Yeah, he’s great. But his live performance was nothing more than mediocre. Sorry, folks! I love him, but he’s just not that great live. His vocals are not strong or clear. His dancing is not amazingly precise. He’s just–average. And very good-looking.

And as for looks–well, I already said I loved it. The suits, the jazz feel, the oldies look to everything. It’s awesome. They did a fantastic job. Hyun Joong looks great, the sets are great, everything was splendidly well-done. No complaints whatsoever. Except that girl’s sleazy clothes. Blehhhh.

Okay, I’m done. Pretty great song, awesome dance, totally addicting. I like it more every time I listen to it. it’s a song you can’t get tired of. Mario sounds FTW! I think they did a great job with it, and I have found myself in Kim Hyun Joong’s trap again. I admit! I’m starting to love him! That is all. Good stuff, KHJ! I want more!

Okay, I’m done. Exhausted, again. And running late, because I have homework to do, and a shower to take. Whoops. Both songs are very different–one female, the other male. One innocent and sweet, the other cheeky and daring. But both very good. Ahhh, when will this cycle end? I have too many more to review D: Well, that’s all for now! See you soon! And to both groups, a hearty fighting!

-Rebecca

http://www.allfordrama.com/14/post/2011/10/lucky-guy-by-kim-hyun-joong-romanization-english-translation-hangul-lyrics-mv-audio-mp3-dl.html

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SotD-C-Real’s “No No No” and Kim Hyun Joong’s “Lucky Guy”

  1. Haneul Park says:

    Hi!!!!!!!!! I loved your comments, and I agree with you in nearly everything you said πŸ˜‰
    I simply adored C-real’s album and I’ve been crazy looking for all the songs’ lyrics translation, but nobody’s got them…Do you know where I could find them please? I’d be most grateful for your help πŸ˜€

    • Thanks for commenting! ^^ Loved C-Real, they’re so under-rated. Sorry about the lyrics, though…I can’t find them either! 😦 I’ll try my best, but I don’t think they’re that popular yet.

      • Haneul Park says:

        Haven’t you tried by asking someone to do it? Or do you have the Korean lyrics? I know a person who makes translation from Korean to Spanish, but I couldn’t find the Korean lyrics and I don’t know if he’s got time to do it for me πŸ˜€
        If you could find them would you send them to me please?
        My e-mail is: haneulpark@hotmail.com
        Thank you for answering.
        Kisses
        Haneul

      • Actually, I do have the Korean lyrics πŸ™‚ I’ll email them to you~

  2. Haneul Park says:

    thank you so much! I’ll see if that boy can translate them for me…I could send you the translation if you’d like πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

