SotD-Super Junior’s “Knockout”

Guess what today is?? It’s Super Junior’s 6th Anniversary! Manse! Six years ago today (*cough*yesterday in Korea*cough*) Super Junior made their debut, to later shoot to stardom and become the world’s greatest boyband. It was the birth of a great star. We must thank to Lord for this day.

I write a lot of posts on Super Junior. That’s undeniable. They’re my favourite band to talk about, okay? So when I saw that it was their anniversary, I knew I had to write something for it. Then I realized–I had to review their debut song. Of course! It only made sense! Thing was…I mean…I don’t actually like “Knockout.” Oh…

I mean, I don’t hate it. The song is decent, if a bit laughable. But the styles. And the hair. And the music video. Oh my. If I’d been a fan back then (way back in 2005. I would have been 10 o_O) I’d have been like “WTF??” When I first saw it, I hated it. I’ve grown to like it more since then, but even now, I watch it more for laughs. Ahaha. Ohh, the terrible CG! XD (This is why I still watch the comebacks of bands I didn’t like. Who knows, they might have gotten better.)

So here’s the video, in all its glory:

This was back when they were still Super Junior 05, the project group. Sans Kyuhyun. (nooo!) Look at them! They were so liiiiittle! Aww ^^ Little Ryeowook and Kibum would have been…18? Haha, almost old for idols debuting these days. But still, compared to their now-24-year-old-selves, they were young. Leeteuk and Heechul were, at the time, 22.

Okay, disregarding the video for now, let us speak of the song. It’s called “Knockout”, but it has, like, an alternate name or something, which is “Twins”. Not sure why. It was actually a remake of an older song of the same name (Knockout) by British boyband Triple 8. Haha. Their music video isn’t as good–not enough terrible CG flames 😉 Like I said, they were only a project group at this time. The song itself is pretty intense, but I feel like it does a sorry job at highlighting their vocals. It’s very biting and rap-based and sounds like it’s sung through clenched teeth. There is some real vocals in the middle, but very little. The song is overall pretty hardcore and a little scary. Here are the translated lyrics–make of them what you will. It seems to me that they’re about a guy telling a different guy to back off–that girl is his. But hey, I could be wrong. The meaning seems to change several times throughout the song. But the main theme seems to be that’s he’s gonna knock the guy out. (Violence…)

As for the English–well, it was remade from an English song, so it’d better be good! And it is. They get Kibum to do a lot of the English rapping, because he has the best pronunciation. (Honestly, I cannot listen to this song without giggling. I can’t take it seriously at all.) Anyways, although they do pronounce “reason” more like “leason,” they did a pretty good job.

The dancing, although it’s in a funny context in the video, is actually quite impressive. There’s a lot of breaking apart and doing separate things, like parts to a whole, which I like. They’re all very synchronized and actually look great. It’s a pretty basic dance, but with all twelve members (so many O_O) it looks pretty epic. It’s pretty powerful and the lot of them look almost robotic. I like it, and I think it’d be easy to learn and fun to do. But paired with the music, it seems pretty intense ^_^

I would like to dedicate an entire paragraph to this band’s hair. Oh. My. Gosh. It is epic in its awfulness. I could actually write a whole post about Heechul’s elegant red-gold curls. I could quite easily mistake him for a damsel in distress. I actually like Kangin’s hair, and Sungmin’s, and Siwon’s, and for the most part the others’. Hair-wise, this isn’t even their worse time period. But some of them are just too awful to let by. Heechul’s is just unspeakably bad. Donghae’s whitish curls are formidable as well. Holy bajeebers. And Eunhyuk had this horrific mullet thing going on. Minus those three, I would mind the boys’ hair at all. Yes, there was much spiking-up and hair-spraying going on, but it wasn’t bad. I rather liked Yesung’s red-tinged hair, too 😀 But those three just brought the rest down. Egad.

Okay, enough of that. it is time to face the beast: the music video itself. I just watched again, and honest to goodness, all I could do was laugh and laugh, and periodically cover my eyes in embarrassment. I’m not sure what exactly makes it so terrible. Maybe it’s the fact that the first thing you see are badly computer-generated flames. And then Hangeng, surrounded by these flames, and apparitions of the other members in pairs on either side (which hilariously appear in what seems to be the company’s idea of best- to least-good-looking). And then, in the reflection of Hangeng’s eye, you see Eunhyuk dancing. LOL! I gotta say, the boys look mighty fine standing in formation in their matching uniforms. The dancing starts, and apart from the weird lighting, all seems fine. And then you see Siwon (I see the singing order hasn’t changed -_-) standing against a colourful, swirly background and it’s like…what the? What happened to intense flames?

In the words of some random YouTuber, this video was “Super Junior’s fail at being badass.” Oh so true. they try–oh, they try–but it just comes off at horribly cheesy and hilarious. For one, they are just trying way too hard to look intense and as cool as possible, which just makes them look ridiculous. And the backgrounds are so terrible. And something about the lighting makes it seem like such terrible quality, or ’80s style. Like it’s something completely slapped together and totally low-budget. Maybe it’s just because it was made in 2005. But really. My goodness. All the video is is dancing and some intense close-ups. Which a lot of videos are. But it just had a terrible turn-out. Sorry, SJ! I don’t know how they ever got popular like this.

I like how you can hear Yesung’s nice vocals in the back, but you baaaarely see him. Once at 1:47 behind Leeteuk, and then again at 3:14 for a split second. I don’t know why. I mean, he wasn’t the best-looking member, and all he really got were background vocals because it’s a largely rap song (and he can’t rap at all), but I still think he was cute! 😦 I would have loved him. You also don’t really see Shindong…at all. Poor guy. Just because he’s chubby doesn’t mean poeple’d hate him! I don’t think he even got any lines. Aww.

I feel like there’s more to say about this video, but I think I’ve covered everything. I guess you’ll just have to watch it for yourself. It’s so funny XD

As for members (I hate doing these for SJ–too many!) here they are. Leeteuk‘s at 0:49 and in the front at 1:47 and at 3:01. Heechul‘s at 2:05 and 2:28. Hangeng‘s at 0:01 and 0:44. Yesung‘s in the back at 1:47  and at 3:14. Kangin‘s at 1:05 and 1:18. Sungmin‘s at 0:50 and 1:34. Eunhyuk‘s at 2:20 and 2:30 and 3:05. Donghae‘s at 3:19 and at the front at 1:21. Siwon‘s at 0:37 and 1:40. Ryeowook‘s at 1:02 and 1:06. and Kibum‘s at 1:09 and 2:54. And you never–not once–get a clear view of Shindong. Seriously, for most of it I couldn’t tell if he was there. You see him for a split second on the far left at 3:04. Apart from group shots, that’s the most you’ll see of him. How sad is that 😦

And that’s about it! This video never fails to induce fits of laughter and intense embarrassment, but it brings back memories 🙂 I wonder if Super Junior themselves hate this video? Or do they think it’s great? Hmm. Anyways, I kind of feel like it’s awesome in its terribleness. I will continue to watch it, just for kicks. And honestly, the song’s not bad. And the dance is pretty sick. So they got a 2/3. Good ole Super Junior. They may have had a rough start, but they made up for it with their awesome personalities and future success. So well done. I would not be where I am today without them, and I will continue to love everything they release, just because it’s them. What a great, great band. Let us all rejoice about the past six years of endless epicness, and hope for many more to come. The boys have been through a  lot, but they’ve come out on top. Yay! (It makes me sad, seeing them all here together, and thinking of the eight left performing. Well, minus Kyuhyun. He’ll join them soon enough, though.)

Overall, I just want to say the last six years have been a blast, and I look forward to many more. Super Junior, fighting! ♥

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Songs of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

