SotD-Super Junior M’s “Super Girl”

Another significant day in my k-pop journey! ūüėÄ On November 30, 2010, I discovered something truly awesome; SUPER JUNIOR! Ha. Like I don’t talk about them enough already, right? This will be the last for a while, promise o_O Unless they come out with something new. Then I won’t be able to stop myself.

I’m actually not completely sure which day I discovered Super Junior on. But the 30th was the first time I mentioned them in my journal, and it was also the day my brother posted a link to the Sorry Sorry dance version on his Facebook. So I decided Nov. 30 would work for me, and I’m sticking with it.

Definitely the most influential SJ song for me, in the beginning, was Sorry Sorry. But I already talked about that in an old post, so I obviously won’t repeat myself. But to be honest, I actually saw another video of theirs before that, which was “Super Girl” by SJ-M. Not the best song or video ever, but I still like it to this day. Brings back memories, for sure.

Well, I just took an hour break to update my old Sorry Sorry post. Now, back to this one!

Here’s the video, for those who haven’t seen it:

That’s actually the Mandarin version. There’s also a Korean version, which is the one I first saw, here. Exact same thing, but in Korean.

Down to business! I’m short on time, because the whole Sorry Sorry thing took up so much -_- The video is pretty cheesy, but fun and cute and even has a plot (*gasp!*). It’s about Nerdy Hangeng, who goes to a party and meets the beautiful Jessica of SNSD. She rejects him, which obviously makes him sad. So he goes and transforms into Sexy Hangeng, the dancing machine. And she’s all like *swoon* and goes to dance with him. Simple, funny, and kind of a bad message to send to young children. You should change yourself so others will¬†like¬†you more! Looks are all that matter! (I joke. Don’t take me seriously. But really, that is kind of a bad message XD)

The lyrics are equally cheesy, being all about her being his super girl, and he her super man. HA! Apart from the chorus, though, they’re decent. About her¬†having¬†a boyfriend who doesn’t deserve her and all that. Saying that he’ll love her more. Pretty sweet. Nothing special. I got my Chinese/translated lyrics here. The Korean ones are a bit¬†different, but send the same message. I actually kind of like them ^^

The English in the Chinese version is very basic. They only use a couple words here and there, and they’re all pronounced fine (they still say “shooper” XD Oh, those boys…). But int he Korean version, there’s this gem that made me laugh out loud every time I heard it–and still does. It’s Donghae’s golden line–“He’s not super man, he must be mama boy.” My gosh, so funny. The lack of a¬†possessive¬†ending on “mama” makes it even better. XD Donghae, because it’s you, I’ll let it pass. HAHAHA. So good.

I’m actually rather fond of this dance,¬†even¬†if it’s not that amazing. For one, I love that Henry gets a dance solo. I love that boy. Also,t he dance is somewhat cheesy, and somewhat awesome. Just¬†like¬†the song. I’m assuming they’re trying to imitate Superman, but it just makes me laugh. Very nice. It’s pretty simple, but very energetic and pretty cool,¬†and¬†the boys pull it off very well. NICE!

Have I mentioned that I love their outfits in this video? No? WELL I DO. They’re so awesome. All of them. The tuxes, the stylish clothes at the dance scenes (such as 1:43), the clothes they’re wearing at the party. All awesome. I can’t even pick a favourite. MAJOR props to their stylists. Their hair, too. Especially Donghae’s curly ‘do. Too cute. That’s when I first fell in love with him ^^ Looks-wise, I think this is one of my favourite eras for SuJu. Kyaaa!

Whoa, am I done already? I guess I’ll just add my favourite parts, then. Namely, the beginning of some epic dorky-dancing by Kyu for a split second at 2:23. Why did they cut him off??? It was about to get so good! Also, that move at 2:36. HA. And Henry’s solo at 1:20. And the chest-popping at 0:09. And Donghae’s gesture at 2:11 (he’s so cute!) What’s this? Does Donghae not have a single sexy move of his own? Madness! He¬†always¬†has one!

Ok, lastly, members. Let’s go! Henry’s at 0:57 and 1:20. Kyuhyun’s at 0:20 and 0:39.¬†Donghae’s¬†at 1:33 and 2:11. Zhou Mi’s¬†at 1:14 and 1:41. Hangeng’s at 1:06, and is the main character. Ryeowook’s¬†at 0:48 and 1:15 and 2:28. And Siwon’s at 0:32 and 2:08. The order from 0:13 to 0:17 is Siwon, Hangeng, Zhou Mi, Henry, Kyuhyun, Ryewook, Donghae. They’re just too cute ^^

Alright, I’m done. It’s late XD Overall, I can easily say that Super Junior has been one of, of not¬†the,¬†most influential k-pop bands for me in my k-pop journey (why do I always call it that?). I’ve said so a dozen times in this blog. I love them so, so, soooo much. For reals. And they kind of changed how I would spend the next 365 days of my life. I have this unexplainable attachment to Super Junior, and I doubt that’ll fade anytime soon. For one year now, and forever after, I Prom15e to 13elieve XD That’s so lame. But it must be said! I love them to death. It’s only been a year since I discovered them, but it feels like they’ve always been a part of my life. And last but not least, I just want to say Super Junior, FIGHTING!

-Rebecca

About beckysmusicblog

I'm a music-obsessed girl that decided to keep this blog for my future self and my friends. I also have too much free time ^^
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

